This article explains how to use the JE Cost Category field on the Close Job screen. This field is not required; it's an option that changes how the accounting is done.
Closing a job creates a JE that moves funds from the WIP account to the asset account, but it doesn’t show movement at the detail-level. If you would like to see this, complete the JE Cost Category field, which condenses details into a designated category when you close the job.
For example, in the following graphic, we created a category called Close Job and entered it in the JE Cost Category field when we closed a job. You can see that the details on the job have been condensed into the Close Job category.
In the following example, we didn’t complete the JE Cost Category field when closing the job. Note that you can no longer see what happened to the amounts in the invoiced field.
If you would like to use this field, you need to create a Close Job category.
Here are some things to keep in mind:
Enter a category code that will place the category just above the Total Project category.
If you want, you can select the Exclude From Analytics option to ensure that the category is not displayed in reports.



