Skip to main content

Inactivating a Property

If you sell or stop managing a property, you should inactivate it to ensure it no longer shows up on reports. However, there is more to inactivating a property than just ticking the Inactive box on the property screen.

In general, you should inactivate properties instead of deleting them. This ensures you can still report on properties you formerly owned or managed. If you want to delete a property, you must also delete all the transactions, owners, and units first.

Close Out Financials

You should run an AR report, such as a Delinquency report, to identify any unpaid charges, unapplied credits, or unapplied prepayments. You may want to apply or write these off.

You should also run an AP Aging report to identify any outstanding payables at the property you intend to inactivate. You may want to delete or zero out any payables that you do not intend to pay.

Finally, run a trial balance for your property. Determine if there are any other adjustments you need to make to the balance of those GL accounts to close out the books. You would typically create journal entries to make those adjustments.

If this property shared a bank account in Breeze with other properties that you will continue to manage, you need to indicate what is happening with the balance of the cash GL accounts. For example, if you intend to pay any remaining cash out to the owners, you can create a payable and pay it.

Note: It is very important to address the cash GL balance during this step. Not doing so can make bank reconciliations challenging moving forward.

Unpublish from CondoCafe

If you were using CondoCafe at this property, you should completely unpublish it. This means turning off the Owner Portal inside Breeze.

Turn off Online Payments

You have two ways to turn off online payments: the bank account level and the property level.

If you won't be using the property's bank account anymore at all, your SPOC user can deactivate the entire account. They should navigate to the Company Settings screen and then click the KYC/Payments Portal button. Inside the portal, they should click View/Edit Bank Accounts and then click the Deactivate button beside the bank.

If this property shared a bank with other properties, and you need to continue providing online payments at those properties, you can deactivate payments at one single property. Navigate to Admin > Toolbox > Deactivate Autopay Setup. Put the property you are deactivating in the filter and click Find. Select all owners that appear onscreen, enter a Stop Date at the top of the page, and click the Deactivate button at the top of the page.

Note: This step is critical to ensure that all recurring payments from owners are stopped.

Inactivate the Property

Navigate to Properties > Properties and review the property. Click edit. Tick the Inactive checkbox.

If there are unpaid transactions at the property, this message will appear. This is a soft warning, so you can click OK to proceed anyway, but it is recommended that you review those unpaid transactions and address them.

Finally, a Date Inactivated field will appear below the Inactive checkbox. Fill in the date the property was inactivated and click save.

What happens to inactivated properties?

You cannot create transactions or move owners in or out at inactive properties.

By default, inactive properties do not show up when you navigate to Properties > Properties. They are also hidden when you drill into the Property filter on any screen, e.g. when running a report. However, most screens have a tickbox or a toggle you can flip to make inactive properties visible, so you'll always be able to look at your historical data.

Did this answer your question?