Skip to main content

How do I reapply a receipt?

This article is divided into two sections:

  • The Reapply feature for posted receipts

  • The Reapply feature for unposted receipts

The Reapply feature for posted receipts

The Reapply feature allows you to modify a posted receipt, without changing the deposit record in the bank reconciliation as long as the bank is the same for the new receipt. You cannot change the amount, but you can apply the receipt to different charges or to a different person.

In the following example, we modify a receipt for a prepayment by applying the amount to another owner. The bank is the same.

To reapply a posted receipt

Open the receipt record.

Click the Edit icon (the pencil), and then click the Reapply button.

A warning message appears: This function will reverse this receipt and require you to enter a new receipt. Are you sure you want to reapply this receipt?

Click Yes. A new Receipt screen appears. The payer information is copied over, but the Charges section is cleared.

Complete the Receipt screen. You can apply the amount to different charges (for the same owner), or you can use the Reselect button to select another owner. You cannot change the total amount of the receipt.

When you click Save, the Related Receipt link appears at the top of the screen.

The Related Receipt link is a link back to the original receipt, shown below.

The original receipt has been reversed. To view the reversing receipt, click the Reversed by link.

On the reversing receipt, the Reversal of link is a link back to the original receipt.

The Reapply feature for unposted receipts

For an unposted receipt, the Reapply function removes the original receipt and copies over the information to a new receipt, allowing you to reallocate the funds to different charges or a different payer.

There is no reversing a receipt since the original receipt was never posted to the general ledger.

To reapply an unposted receipt

Open the unposted receipt record and click Reapply.

A warning message appears: This function will delete this receipt and require you to enter a new receipt. Are you sure you want to reapply this receipt?

Click Yes to continue.

The original saved receipt is removed. The information is copied over into a new, unsaved receipt.

Click Clear if you want to keep the payer information but allocate the funds to different charges.

Click Reselect if you want to allocate the funds to a different payer.

Did this answer your question?