Skip to main content

How do I close a job?

When a job is complete, use the Close Job button to change the status of the job and the associated contracts and change orders to Closed. Closing the job also creates a journal entry that moves funds booked to the Work in Progress account (WIP account) to a different asset account.

Before you can close the job, you must complete the following steps:

  1. Update the job status to Complete.

  2. Release retention for all associated contracts and change orders.

To close a job

On the Job Information screen, click the Close Job button. The Close Job screen appears.

Breeze populates the JE Post Month and JE Date fields for you. You can update these fields as needed.

In the JE Cost Account field, enter the asset account that you want to move the funds to.

The JE Cost Category field is not required.

Click Save. A confirmation message appears. Click OK.

Breeze creates an unposted journal entry batch for the total amount on the job. You can click on the journal ID to view the journal entry.

How do I view a job after I've closed it?

If you want to view a job after you have closed it, go to Accounting > Job Cost > Jobs and then use the filter to show jobs with a status of Closed.

To view the JE that closed the job, click the Closed label.

Did this answer your question?